top of page

A month in Temagami (part 3)

May 15, 2016

Day 12

Broke camp on Long Point Lake and paddled back down to the south end of the lake through the cold and flurries. Trolled the whole way but not a bite as the cold must have shut down the fish.

Relieved to be back at the van, I blasted the heat once I was loaded up, then drove east to Elk Lake. There I sent some texts, emails, and checked sports scores and the weather forecast. Proceeded north from there to Matachewan, en route to Mistinikon Lake and the West Montreal River.

Wasted a bunch of time finding and deciding upon access points from which to launch the canoe. Eventually embarked and made camp after clearing branches from the overgrown campsite. Found and unearthed a large stone which I thought, at first, to be a tombstone on the island, but apparently not.

 

May 16, 2016

Day 13

Paddled to a large nearby bay in search of post-spawn pike, but to no avail. Then on to the dam where a hydro plant laid. By that point the sky had finally opened up and I was feeling sunshine and looking at blue skies for the first time in a few days.

Now about two weeks into the trip, I start to long for the comforts of home. Things like pizza, movies, sports, running water (haven't showered yet), and, of course, human contact. Still, I am relaxed, content, and feeling at one with nature and the beauty that surrounds me.

 

May 17, 2016

Day 14

Broke camp on the West Montreal River and carried on south to Mistinikon Lake (a basin of the aforementioned river). First, a stop at the van to resupply, since it was more or less on the way.

Through the narrows into Mistinikon I went, and with a lovely tailwind I was at my campsite within an hour or so, and with minimal effort. It was a splendid site with lots of room, a pretty good mooring for the canoe, and with views east, south, and west. I cleared a path around the island with my hatchet and hands, partly for fun and also to check out the area for bears, but that may have been ill-advised as my hands were already raw and covered in scratches. Afterward, I dozed off in the tent for 90 minutes, then had an early dinner of re-hydrated mashed potatoes along with some ginger tea.

That, along with some pain killers and the fact that the wind had calmed and the grey skies were clearing, gave me sufficient energy to get back in the canoe to scope out the area that evening. The effort paid dividends quickly. Not only did I get a few pike while trolling a Rapala Husky Jerk, but, at last, I laid eyes upon a magnificent Canada lynx for the first time in my life. It didn't even scamper off too quickly, and I had time to record a brief video. That had been on my bucket list for a while. A special moment, for sure.

I returned to camp, paddling on perfectly calm waters (a pleasure I had nearly forgotten), and celebrated a lovely end to the day with some kettle popcorn, scotch-whiskey, and a nice, dry, self-sustaining fire.

 

May 18, 2016

Day 15

Ventured south on Mistinikon to the west side of Bell Island. Gorgeous scenery. I took a trail that I thought was the fire tower trail, as marked on my map, but as it turns out, it was not. I ran into a stream and that was that after about 30 minutes each way. Further south, I did find the entrance to the fire tower trail, but I was too hungry and running low on water, on a warmer day. It was there that I also found an inflowing stream and many fish, including one for a shore lunch. I continued my circumnavigation of Bell Island and came across the launch I had tried to access, but it was gated at the time. Another inflowing stream, and another pile of fish waiting there. Back north to camp for dinner, relaxation, and a fire. Tomorrow, back to the van as, evidently, I did not pack enough food. Then on to the much anticipated Lady Evelyn Smoothwater.

bottom of page