top of page

A month in Temagami (part 2)

May 9, 2016

Day 6

Awoke to a frosty morning at -2C. Tried to warm up with hot oatmeal and tea, but didn't feel warm again for hours. Launched from the crown land parking lot anyway, and fished the cold away. Another pike, walleye, and smallie near the small waterfall.

Headed north for the Duke Lake access point on the Spanish River system. Paddled north from the launch where there was current and also some active fish. Four more pike and another walleye, but none of them big. Quick dinner at the car and then northeast to the Duncan Lake launch. Sleep in the Windstar again and then at least a few nights on an island at the north end of Pigeon Lake, off of Duncan.

Another bear spotted on the drive to Duncan Lake.

 

May 10, 2016

Day 7

Another sub-zero morning, but an early start nevertheless, given the long day ahead. I set out from the Duncan Lake launch with the full set of gear including my SLR and sonar since I planned on staying here a while to set up a proper camp, and there were no portages on the route---so I thought. I paddled north on Duncan until I hit the fork and turned westward into Pigeon Lake. After just a few minutes I could hear the dull roar of a waterfall in the distance. I went on, fearing that this would impede my route, and sure enough, it did. I considered my options and decided that a short portage would be acceptable, despite my heavy load. Attempts were made to locate a portage route, and though there were a few trail markers, only one led to some semblance of a path. Clearly my research had fallen short on this route.

Back to the fork, and then north again on Duncan to try to find a suitable place to set up camp---ideally on an island---despite none being marked on my map. After passing a few "last resort" options, I came upon a small island that wasn't totally grown over like most others. I docked the canoe alongside a sloping rock and disembarked to explore it. There were a couple of signs of use from the past, but clearly it was a considerable time ago. It would take some work to clear it, but it was still the best option.

The process began with clearing wood, finding a somewhat flat tent pad, setting up the tarp, hammock, and tent, establishing a stone firepit, gathering firewood, and using the hot, sunny day to do a load of laundry in the dry sack. Overheating, I opted for a skinny dip in the frigid lake, with ice-out occurring likely within the last week. Though it stole my breath to do so, it was rejuvenating.

After a taxing day, my back ached, my feet were sore, and my hands were scratched and raw. It was time to relax by cooking dinner over the fire, then popcorn, with a bit of scotch-whiskey to wash it down.

The warm weather also brought about the first mosquitoes in numbers. Not in swarms...yet.

 

May 11, 2016

Day 8

Pancakes then north on Duncan for the day. Several kilometres north of camp, I find a medium-sized shallow bay off of a main lake basin, and it also has an inflowing creek. At the mouth of the creek I find dozens of smallmouth bass and suckers. The suckers won't take my offerings, but the smallies are happy to oblige. Ten of them are caught there over a few hours, including a nice five-pounder.

On the way home a perfect eating-size pike bites on the troll. I clean it on an island and fry it up crispy back at camp. Exhausted from sunshine and paddling, I almost fail to notice a big log catch fire beside the firepit. Fortunately I had my dish-washing water handy as the crunchy lichen was catching fire too, and it burns like gasoline.

 

May 12, 2016

Day 9

Wake up at 5:30am and decide to get an early start to striking camp. Based on the forecast from a few days ago, I expected a storm, and intended to beat it. And beat it I did, but with a strong headwind the whole way. Luckily I was only about 8km up the lake, so it was doable. Caught a nice 8-pound pike on the way, for my trouble.

Made my way east on the highway to the next adventure, and went a little further to Elk Lake to get a few supplies, including power steering fluid for the leaky van, and to get cell phone signal to check the weather and check in back home. Headed back to the Long Point Lake launch and reorganized supplies there in preparation for a few cold days there ahead.

 

May 13, 2016

Day 10

Slept in until close to 8am waiting for the rain to stop. The moment it did I was on my way. Trolling proved to be highly productive on the day, catching 9 fish on the paddle in to camp, including a nice 5-pound walleye which probably would have been more if it had been fatter, given the size of its head. Also hooked into three nice smallies on the way, all around four pounds.

Made camp on a nice, sheltered bay on an island at the north end of Long Point Lake. Fished around the bay for the afternoon, then back to camp for couscous and Indian sauce with paneer. Tired, and ready for a cold night, I hit the hay.

 

May 14, 2016

Day 11

Well, as far as backcountry camping vacations go, today was a tougher day. It was a cold, drizzly, and very windy day, and despite the conditions I paddled a good 10km up and down the lake. Never knew I was a masochist. But then again, I suppose all backcountry campers are. In the middle of batting a solid headwind, one of my reels broke to top it off. All to be expected in May up north.

At least I ate enough to compensate for the struggles; a batch of pancakes for breakfast, ramen noodles and pepperoni sticks for brunch, peanuts and chocolate bars for lunch snacks, potatoes (dehydrated, of course) for dinner, and fresh pike for second dinner, after I caught one in the evening that took the hook badly in the gills. On top of all the food, I also napped for 90 minutes late in the afternoon. Still, I am ready for a good sleep again, though another cold one.

bottom of page